Only for Dreaming

Thief
2 min readSep 14, 2022
Author: MS Paint

The stars are only for dreaming
I want to go out where they’re teeming
While a thousand love songs are receding
And nature takes a burly course
In purple canyons, highways abandoned
Crippled townships that are stranded
In this drought that can’t be tamed
In country that won’t be shamed
There are still multitudes in my guesses
About your sweet caresses
And one day I’ll return with all guns blazing
But now it’s for the wide-open plains
The cool desert nights I pray for rain
Days dappled in sunlight; cactus strewn
Make for symbols of their own ruin
Paltry old straw trees
Float past upon the breeze
And the dust that falls to earth
Adds greater meaning to my search
Than old mud baths once carved in blood
Or stories of some ancient flood
Or those who trod broken trails
By the tracks that camels sailed
Winter wonderlands of doubt
In this moment made from drought
It’s the cool seas that call my name
In some strange mirage, a foolish game
Because there is nothing without you
I’m turning back, the time’s past through
All’s not in proportion
But that suddenly seems less important
I must rest this weary head
I’ll await the locust plagues be dead
Find my way back to your oasis
Make my way to your old bed

--

--